Discovering Welch’s Anew

I recently met up with a friend, Aida, and her colleagues who enlightened me about a product I have known for many years–Welch’s grape juice. As a Filipino-Chinese mother, I was extremely familiar with Welch’s since this grape juice has been a preferred juice brand among us local Chinese. I remember my grandparents, parents, uncles and aunties purchasing bottles of Welch’s for our family. I even received Welch’s as gifts after I gave birth.

Welch’s Grape Juice

Since I was already a fan of Welch’s (mainly due to its unequaled taste, hehehe…), I was even happier to learn that Welch’s is not just a great tasting grape juice. Nutrition-wise, I always had a dilemma about Welch’sdue to its label that said “From Concentrate.” I thought that since it is “From Concentrate,” it must not really be that healthy. I was elated to learn that Welch’s had to put this on their label since all juice manufacturers are required to state “from concentrate” if their product contains any juice from concentrate. However, the way Welch’s is made, only the water was taken out of the pressed grape juice to preserve them since there are lots and lots of grapes! Water is then added later on to make the juice. This reminds me of the process introduced by the Japanese to preserve noodles for instant noodles. The noodles are dry since it doesn’t have water but when we put the water back, the noodles come back to life!

There are also other things I learned about Welch’s which I didn’t know before. Let me share with you some of them.

1. What are the health benefits of Welch’s 100% Grape Juice?

Welch’s grape juice is made from Concord grapes (purple variety) and Niagara grapes (white variety) which are only found in the Americas.

The Concord Grapes Up Close

These grapes contain the antioxidant vitamin C as well as natural polyphenols. One of my favorite celebrity chefs, Alton Brown, explains it better so just watch this video.

2. Who owns Welch’s?

Welch’s is owned by a cooperative of grower families who grow the grapes used in the products. The National Grape Cooperative Association is comprised of 1,150 grape growers with farms throughout the United States.

3. How much calories and sugar are in a glass of Welch’s 100% Grape Juice?

An 8-oz serving contains 140 calories, and counts as 2 servings of fruit (Based on US FDA). The sugars in an 8-oz serving of Welch’s are more than 30 grams. However, these are natural fruit sugars, frustose and glucose. Welch’s does not contain added sugars and preservatives.

4. How is Welch’s grape juice made?

After the grapes are harvested (only during harvest season, no artificial cultivation), they are pressed–skins, seeds and all–within 8 hours. The juice goes through a process of concentration where the water is taken out. To make the juice, water is put in again using the concentrate. Welch’s is also pasteurized.

5. How long can I keep an opened bottle of Welch’s juice in the refrigerator?

Since Welch’s grape juice does not contain preservatives, it must be refrigerated after opening. An opened bottle must be consumed within 7 to 10 days.

As a mom, I don’t really need to be convinced about the quality of Welch’s since this brand has been around for more than 100 years. Still, it was good to learn more about its history and the way it is prepared. I now feel more confident whenever I purchase Welch’s for my family. To be honest, Welch’s is a bit more expensive than other juice brands but I can’t think of any direct competitor of Welch’s in the grape juice department. Since most of the “grape juice” products out there are actually “grape flavored” sugar water, I cannot think of any brand that offers real grape juice except Welch’s. In the Philippines, Welch’s is widely available in groceries including SM, Robinsons, Unimart, Shopwise, etc.

Welch’s at Unimart!

I am glad to blog about Welch’s since it is a product I believe in and for the record, this is not a sponsored post. You know what I mean. I gotta go to Unimart to get the sparkling Welch’s! =)

Leave a Reply

